First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

December 2, 2019

<u>VIA EMAIL</u> Beth Franco, Executive Director Protection & Advocacy for People with Disabilities 3710 Landmark Drive, Suite 208 Columbia, SC 29204-4034 <u>franco@pandasc.org</u>

RE: State Department of Correction Ombudsman

Dear Ms. Franco:

Thank you for sharing your time and for providing input about the South Carolina Department of Corrections (SCDC) with the ad hoc committee reviewing the agency. As follow-up from your input, we seek some additional information.

- 1. In what specific ways does your organization believe an independent ombudsman would improve the operations of SCDC (e.g., collect and report on data, etc.)?
- 2. Please provide information on other states that have an independent ombudsman involved in state correctional operations including, but not limited to, length of time in existence, budget, number of employees, primary services provided, and specific impacts made.
- 3. Please provide a brief summary of what your organization believes are best practices from other states that SCDC and the S.C. General Assembly should consider.

Your assistance with these questions would be greatly appreciated. May we hear from you by Tuesday, October 29, if possible? Additionally, the ad hoc subcommittee welcomes any other input or feedback your office would like to provide.

Thank you, again, for your input and participation in the House's legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Soluri Tallon 3

Edward R. Tallon Sr. Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton Department of Corrections Ad Hoc Subcommittee